Regional High School STEM competition to be held Friday

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (ADAMS) – High school students from throughout northeast Indiana will descend upon the McMillen Park Community Center in Fort Wayne this Friday to compete at TechFest 2019. The 10th annual TechFest event will see 537 students representing 18 high schools throughout northeast Indiana compete in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) oriented competitions and learn about college and career opportunities in northeast Indiana. “We are so excited to get this event underway on Friday,” said Event Coordinator Kurt Whited. “The students bring such energy to the day and it is so rewarding to see their interest in STEM.”

TechFest is put on annually by the Northeast Indiana Tech Coalition (NEITC). The NEITC is focused on stopping the “brain drain” in northeast Indiana by establishing a model of cooperation between government, businesses and schools. Find out more about the NEITC here Thirty-eight businesses and colleges will be on hand to introduce the students to STEM careers and
higher education opportunities in Indiana. Students will also have an opportunity to participate in twelve breakout sessions and practicing their interviewing skills with local HR professionals. The competitions this year will cover cybersecurity, materials science, engineering, website design, mathematics, programming, and electronics.

“This event would not be possible without our major sponsors – Atos, Franklin Electric, City of Fort Wayne, Allen County, Vincennes University, 80/20 Inc, Rural Sourcing, NIDIA, and others plus the dozens of volunteers who help out on the day of the event,” added Tim Miller, Volunteer Coordinator.

After competing in the morning’s events, the students will hear a keynote address from Derek Laliberte, Director of Brand Engagement for Aptera, a Fort Wayne-based software development company. Derek is the host of a video series on emerging technology with over 100 episodes published. STEM competitions start at 9:30 a.m. – afternoon keynote at 12:30 p.m. with awards ceremony to
immediately follow.